Nagaland NDPP elects Rio as leader of NDPP legislature party

Nagaland Election Results 2018 LIVE UPDATES

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader and former Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav and other allies on Sunday met Governor PB Acharya to stake claim to form the government. This he said while talking to a section of media persons at Raj Bhavan after submitting their (BJP) letter of support to the Governor on Rio's leadership.

The NPF had won 27 seats in the 60-member state Assembly in the recently held election, Whereas, BJP won 12 seats and NDPP grabbed 17.

The Congress, which has given three chief ministers to Nagaland since the state's inception in 1963, is nowhere in the reckoning.

The Naga People's Front and the National People's Party have written to Amit Shah seeking the BJP's backing to form the next government and have issued a veiled threat to pull out of Manipur if denied support.

When asked how NDPP-BJP was going to run the Government in Nagaland when they won only 30 seats, Sarma disclosed that they already had the support of one JDU MLA and another Independent and that formed the simple majority qualifying to form the Government in Nagaland.

The development comes after BJP formally announced that it no longer wishes to continue the 15-year-old alliance with the Naga People's Front (NPF) in the state.

The BJP is set to form the next government in Nagaland after submitting the letter of support of 32 legislators to Nagaland Governor P.B. Acharya. Alliance partners the BJP and the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) both are leading in five seats each. So also from the 12 elected BJP MLAs by the BJP president within 24 hours.

No one had defied the Naga rebels and ruled Nagaland with as much authority as S.C. Jamir until his protege, Mr. Rio, replaced him as Chief Minister in 2003.

"But later NDPP candidate Namri Nchang was declared victor after recounting of votes without the presence of NPF polling agents and the candidate". On Tuesday, NPP's Nagaland president Ato Yepthomi submitted a letter of support of his two MLAs to the governor. "Such a coalition government is likely to be more stable", they added.

The earlier result on Saturday, declaring NPF candidate Namduadi Rangkau Zeliang as the victor by a margin of 32 votes, was overturned after the poll officer detected an anomaly in the figures.

Related news: