Galen Rupp ends American men's drought in Chicago Marathon

Florence Kiplagat will return as defending women's champion

An American has won the men's Chicago Marathon for the first time since 2002.

Dibaba in her debut in Chicago clocked 2:18:30 while Kenyan Birid Kosgei who braved the high tempo throughout sticking to the Ethiopian came in second, one minute 53 seconds later.

The men split 1:05:49 through the halfway point while the women were not far back in 1:08:48. She stayed with the lead pack throughout and finished in third place with a time of 2:20:57.

Meanwhile, the women were on course-record pace through 10K, clocking 32:28, including Dibaba, Hasay and Florence Kiplagat, the two-time defending champion. Shortly after 21.1K, Dennis Kimetto, the men's world record holder, stepped off the course limping with an apparent injury, continuing his recent struggles that have plagued him for the past two years.

The World Marathon Majors continue on November 5 with the New York City Marathon. Kenyan Brigid Kosegi came in second place and American Jordan Hasay, the former fastest American woman to win a marathon, came in third.

Rupp, the Rio Olympics bronze medalist broke away from Kirui in the final 10kilometres of the race and ensured he finished off the year on high note with a personal best time having finished second at the Boston Marathon earlier on in the year.

The lead pack slowly dwindled over the next 10km, leaving only Rupp, Kirui and Ethiopia's Sisay Lemma after 22 miles. Another Kenyan, Bernard Kipyego, was third in 2:10:23. The last United States of America runner to medal in that race was Bill Mills, who won gold at the 1964 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Rupp, competing in just his fourth marathon, surged clear of the rest of field in a tactical race with a 24th mile recorded in just 4min 30sec.

Related news: