Indian squad for Sri Lanka series announced

Indian squad for Sri Lanka series announced

Rohit missed India's last Test series against Australia due to injury but he makes a return into the Test squad after proving his fitness and performing really well in the Champions Trophy 2017 in June. Ishant Sharma too is retained given his show the last time Indian toured Sri Lanka.

India and Sri Lanka played their only full series against each other - three Tests, five ODIs and two T20 matches - in India in 2009. India's regular opener Rohit Sharma, who last played a Test for India against New Zealand in October 2016, has replaced middle-order batsman Nair in the squad. Nair will be leading the India A side against South Africa, where he is expected to play both formats.

KL Rahul was also included after recovering from a shoulder injury sustained during the home Test series against Australia this year.

Pandya, a regular in India's one-day worldwide and Twenty20 sides, could make his test debut to support the pace bowling unit comprising Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

A three-man strong spin attack has been chosen for the helpful conditions in Sri Lanka, with Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav finding a slot alongside Ravis, Ashwin and Jadeja. The three-match series will be followed by five ODIs and one T20 global.

Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane is set to play the role of Kohli's deputy yet again, after stepping in for the injured skipper in India's fifth and deciding Test against Australia, clinching the series 2-1, earlier this year.

Related news: