Trinamool says win was expected; BJP satisfied with rise

The CPI (M), which ruled West Bengal for 34 years, came a poor third with 17,423 votes, while SUCI bagged 1,476 votes.

Bouyed by the results of the bypolls at Kanthi Dakshin assembly election in East Midnapore district, Singh said that plans and strategies were afoot for the BJP in the 2019 Lok Sabha and 2021 Assembly elections.

Bhattacharya got 95,369 votes and Jana 52,843.

Responding to a query about the steps taken by the state government after the Ram Navmi celebrations by Sangh parivar, he said: "State government's responsibility is to provide full security if a person or a political party calls for a programme".

Asked about Kulbhushan Jadhav, who has been sentenced to death in Pakistan for alleged spying, Singh said, "India will fight till the finish to acquit Jadhav". From around 8% vote share in the same seat in 2016, BJP has pulled it to around 32%, which is four times increase.

In another development, Rajnath Singh today advised his BJP's West Bengal unit not to pay attention to the "false propaganda" by the Left Front and the Congress about any "secret understanding" between his party and the state's ruling Trinamool Congress. "People are with us".

A close analysis of the 2016 assembly election results reveals that there has been a significant transfer of votes from CPM to BJP. The Left Front and Congress however dubbed the defeat as the result of ongoing communal polarization in the state.

"They are so desperate in removing Trinamool Congress that they opted to vote for BJP", Mishra told reporters here. "In the forthcoming assembly polls in the state, the BJP will win with a clear majority", Bharti said on arrival at the Howrah railway station. Kanthi Dakshin represents one of the strongest bases of the Trinamool Congress and is dominated by veteran MP Sishir Adhikari and his sons, transport minister Suvendu Adhikari and MP Dibyendu Adhikari.

"Not only the Left Front supporters but voters of other parties, including those from the ruling party where there is internal feud have voted for BJP", he said. "There is a nexus between CPI (M), Congress and BJP and the CPI (M) vote share has gone to the BJP as is clearly evident from the election result".

Bhattacharya, who won, says, "We are grateful to the people".

Related news: